Pro Football Hall of Famers

    The Field of Legends — 62 Pro Football Hall of Famers Have Played At Ladd-Peebles Stadium:


    With the induction of quarterbacks Brett Favre and Ken Stabler in 2016, a total of 62 members of the Pro Football of Fame have played at Ladd-Peebles Stadium since its construction in 1948, a number which undoubtedly ranks as one of the highest totals of any stadium in the nation that does not to serve as a longtime home field for an NFL franchise. The vast majority of these Hall of Famers played for a North or South squad in the annual Senior Bowl game. Others, such as George Blanda and Dick “Night Train” Lane, played at Ladd during NFL and AFL exhibition games held at the stadium in the 1950s and 1960s, while others were members of college teams that held regular season games there such as Alabama’s Bart Starr in 1955 and Florida State’s Fred Biletnikoff in 1963.

    The following is a complete list of the Pro Football Hall of Famers who have played at Ladd-Peebles Stadium. Any changes or corrections are welcome. A “SB” following the inductee’s college name indicates he played at Ladd during the Senior Bowl.

    Name, Team, Year(s) Played at Ladd:

    Larry Allen, Sonoma State (SB), 1994
    Fred Biletnikoff, Florida State, 1963
    George Blanda, Houston Oilers, 1960, 1961 & 1962
    Terry Bradshaw, Louisiana Tech (SB), 1970
    Derrick Brooks, Florida State (SB), 1995
    Nick Buoniconti, Boston Patriots, 1966
    Jack Christiansen, Detroit Lions, 1955 & 1956
    Lou Creekmur, Detroit Lions, 1955 & 1956
    Dermontti Dawson, Kentucky (SB), 1988
    Len Dawson, Purdue (SB), 1957
    Joe DeLamielleure, Michigan State (SB), 1973
    Chris Doleman, Pittsburgh (SB), 1985
    Brett Favre, Southern Miss (SB), 1991
    Frank Gifford, USC (SB), 1952
    Joe Greene, North Texas State (SB), 1969
    Ray Guy, Southern Miss, 1971
    Franco Harris, Penn State (SB), 1972
    Bob Hayes, Florida A&M (SB), 1965
    Ted Hendricks, Miami, FL (SB), 1969
    Gene Hickerson, Ole Miss (SB), 1958
    Elroy Hirsch, Los Angeles Rams, 1957
    Sam Huff, West Virginia (SB), 1957
    Claude Humphrey, Tennessee State (SB), 1968
    Rickey Jackson, Pittsburgh (SB), 1981
    Stan Jones, Maryland, 1952
    Paul Krause, Iowa (SB), 1964
    Bobby Lane, Detroit Lions, 1956
    Dick “Night Train” Lane, Chicago Cardinals, 1956
    Steve Largent, Tulsa (SB), 1976
    Yale Lary, Detroit Lions, 1956
    James Loftin, Stanford (SB), 1978
    Dan Marino, Pittsburgh (SB), 1983
    Curtis Martin, Pittsburgh (SB), 1995
    Ollie Matson, Chicago Cardinals, 1956
    Don Maynard, New York Titans & Jets, 1960, 1966 & 1967
    Randall McDaniel, Arizona State (SB), 1988
    Art Monk, Syracuse (SB), 1980
    Joe Namath, Alabama, Senior Bowl & New York Jets, 1964, 1965, 1966 & 1967
    Ozzie Newsome, Alabama (SB), 1978
    Ray Nitschke, Illinois (SB), 1958
    Walter Payton, Jackson State (SB), 1975
    Les Richter, Los Angeles Rams, 1957
    John Riggins, Kansas (SB), 1971
    Joe Schmidt, Pittsburgh (SB) & Detroit Lions, 1953, 1955 & 1956
    Billy Shaw, Buffalo Bills, 1962 & 1967
    Ken Stabler, Foley H.S. & Alabama, 1961, 1963, 1966 & 1967
    Dick Stanfel, Detroit Lions, 1955
    John Stallworth, Alabama A&M (SB), 1974
    Bart Starr, Alabama, 1955
    Michael Strahan, Texas Southern (SB), 1993
    Lynn Swann, USC (SB), 1974
    Jim Taylor, LSU (SB), 1958
    Derrick Thomas, Alabama (SB), 1989
    Thurman Thomas, Oklahoma State (SB), 1988
    Gene Upshaw, Texas A&I (SB), 1967
    Norm Van Brocklin, Los Angeles Rams, 1957
    Doak Walker, Detroit Lions, 1955
    Mike Webster, Wisconsin (SB), 1974
    Roger Wehrli, Missouri (SB), 1969
    Aeneas Williams, Southern Univ. (SB), 1991
    Kellen Winslow, Missouri (SB), 1979
    Jack Youngblood, Florida (SB), 1971